One Punch Man challenge

Part III of the Fitness for nerds series.

Patrick Bos
13 min readFeb 13, 2021
Ted Visser, a Navy veteran, cosplaying as Saitama from One Punch-Man. Image by WikiMedia user RightCowLeftCoast, CC-BY-SA 4.0.

I’m not really sure how I got to this workout anymore, but for some reason, it really appealed to me. This Roam Strong article (my first Google hit) further provided me a practical way to build up to the actual workout and I’ve been doing that for two weeks now.

Editor’s note (I’m the editor, teehee): I started writing this in July 2020, so “now” was then.

For those that are unfamiliar with One Punch Man (hyphenate to your own liking): this comic book and animated cartoon character has such extraordinary punching power that any enemy is defeated with one punch. This leads Saitama, as One-Punch Man is actually known, to become kinda bored. It’s pretty funny, check it out on Netflix if, like me, you have become unable to read paper things.

When his protege, the cyborg Genos, begs Saitama to reveal the secret to his power, we learn that it is the daily routine of:

  1. 100 push-ups
  2. 100 sit-ups
  3. and 100 squats.

… well, seems simple enough, let’s try it.

Actually, the full routine also includes running 10k. I’ll focus here on the strength exercises, though.

--

--

Patrick Bos

eScientist / freelancer / HPC & data science / Physics & Humanities / C++ & Python